cover of book

Mark Twain on the Move: A Travel Reader
edited by Alan Gribben and Jeffrey Alan Melton
by Mark Twain
University of Alabama Press, 2008
Cloth: 978-0-8173-1640-2 | Paper: 978-0-8173-5521-0 | eISBN: 978-0-8173-8123-3
Library of Congress Classification PS1302.G7 2009
Dewey Decimal Classification 818.409


Gathers the very best passages from all five of Mark Twain’s travel narratives

Mark Twain on the Move gathers the very best passages from all five of Mark Twain’s travel narratives: The Innocents Abroad (1869), Roughing It (1872), A Tramp Abroad (1880), Life on the Mississippi (1883), and Following the Equator (1897). Although Twain’s travel narratives were his best sellers throughout his career, modern readers are largely unfamiliar with them. Thus, readers are not only missing some of Twain’s most hilarious and insightful material, they are also missing a complete understanding of a beloved literary and cultural icon.

Mark Twain on the Move presents the best of these works--sometimes respectful, often irreverent and outlandish--at their most lively and captures his renowned experiences as an American tourist. And they demonstrate why Twain’s greatest popularity in his lifetime derived from his travel writings rather than from his novels. Twain was always entertaining and provocative while on the move and this collection captures that fabled energy for modern readers.

See other books on: 1835-1910 | Hawaii | Mark Twain | Move | Twain, Mark
See other titles from University of Alabama Press
Nearby on shelf for American literature / Individual authors / 19th century: