cover of book

Sixteen and Counting: The National Championships of Alabama Football
edited by Kenneth Gaddy
contributions by Mitch Dobbs, Andrew Doyle, Keith Dunnavant, Winston Groom, Barrett Jones, Walter Maddox, Kirk McNair, Delbert Reed, Tom Roberts, Phil Savage, Gene Stallings, Erik Stinnett, Steve Townsend, Taylor Watson, Eryk Anders, Javier Arenas, Wayne Atcheson, Allen Barra, John David Briley and Tommy Deas
introduction by Kenneth Gaddy
foreword by Bill Battle
University of Alabama Press, 2017
Cloth: 978-0-8173-1969-4 | eISBN: 978-0-8173-9164-5
Library of Congress Classification GV958.A4S58 2017

Dramatic accounts of every University of Alabama National Championship football season recounted by noted sports writers, players, and Alabamians.

Dating back to 1925, when Wallace Wade coached the Crimson Tide to an undefeated season and earned a spot in the Rose Bowl, the driving goal of every University of Alabama football season has been a national championship. A winning team surfaced that very next year, when Hoyt “Wu” Winslett’s squad sealed the national championship at the Rose Bowl for a second time. Winning seasons and bowl games culminating in the coveted crown followed again in 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, and 2015—more championships than any other college team in the nation.

Sixteen and Counting features a chapter highlighting each of these championship seasons and collects the legendary stories of many of the outstanding coaches and players on the University of Alabama’s championship teams. College football legends such as Wallace Wade, Wu Winslett, Johnny Mack Brown, Pooley Herbert, Frank Thomas, Dixie Howell, Don Hutson, Jimmy Nelson, Holt Rast, Pat Trammel, Sam Bailey, Lee Roy Jordan, Harry Gilmer, Bill Lee, Ken Stabler, Joe Namath, Gary Rutledge, Randy Billingsley, Barry Krauss, Clem Gryska, Gene Stallings, Paul “Bear” Bryant, and, of course, Nick Saban all make prominent appearances.

A seventeenth chapter is included that looks at the uncrowned teams commonly referred to as “the other five,” who were considered national champions by at least one national ranking service at the end of the season. Every glorious milestone and high point in Alabama football history is included here: “Mama called,” the wishbone formation, “The Goal Line Stand,” the Million Dollar Band, the coaching tower, the Davis kicking dynasty, the Notre Dame box, Coach of the Year, Team of the Decade, and two Heisman trophy winners.

See other books on: Counting | Football | History | Sports & Recreation | University of Alabama
See other titles from University of Alabama Press
Nearby on shelf for Recreation. Leisure / Sports / Ball games: Baseball, football, golf, etc.: