cover of book

Bearheart: The Heirship Chronicles
by Gerald Vizenor Vizenor
University of Minnesota Press, 1990
Paper: 978-0-8166-1852-1
Library of Congress Classification PS3572.I9D37 1990
Dewey Decimal Classification 813.54

Bearheart, Gerald Vizenors first novel, overturns "terminal creeds" and violence in a decadent material culture. American civilization has collapsed and Proude Cedarfair, his wife, Rosina, and a bizarre collection of disciples, are forced on a pilgrimage when government agents descend on the reservation to claim their sacred cedar trees for fuel. The tribal pilgrims reverse the sentiments of Manifest Destiny and travel south through the ruins of a white world that ran out of gas.

"[Vizenor] is perhaps the supreme ironist among American Indian writers of the twentieth century. Bearheart has become an underground classic." N. Scott Momaday

Gerald Vizenor is the author of Wordarrows (1978), Earthdivers (1981), The Trickster of Liberty (1988), Interior Landscapes (1990), and Griever (1990).

See other books on: Fiction | Vizenor, Gerald Vizenor
See other titles from University of Minnesota Press
Nearby on shelf for American literature / Individual authors / 1961-2000: