cover of book

Bound for America: Three British Composers
by Nicholas Temperley
University of Illinois Press, 2002
Paper: 978-0-252-07595-7 | eISBN: 978-0-252-09264-0 | Cloth: 978-0-252-02847-2
Library of Congress Classification ML390.T278 2003
Dewey Decimal Classification 780.92273

Nicholas Temperley documents the lives, careers, and music of three British composers who emigrated from England in mid-career and became leaders in the musical life of the early United States. William Selby of London and Boston (1738-98), Rayner Taylor of London and Philadelphia (1745-1825), and George K. Jackson of London, New York, and Boston (1757-1822) were among the first trained professional composers to make their home in America and to pioneer the building of an art music tradition in the New World akin to the esteemed European classical music. Why, in middle age, would they emigrate and start over in uncertain and unfavorable conditions? How did the new environment affect them personally and musically? Temperley compares their lives, careers, and compositional styles in the two countries and reflects on American musical nationalism and the changing emphasis in American musical historiography.

See other books on: Composers | Great Britain | History & Criticism | Music | Temperley, Nicholas
See other titles from University of Illinois Press
Nearby on shelf for Literature on music / History and criticism / Biography: