The Changing Fictions of Masculinity
by David Rosen
University of Illinois Press, 1993
Cloth: 978-0-252-02004-9 | Paper: 978-0-252-06309-1
Library of Congress Classification PR151.M46R67 1993
Dewey Decimal Classification 820.99286

 In a sensitive and provocative
  study of six great works of British literature, David Rosen traces the evolution
  of masculinity, inviting readers to contemplate the shifting joys and sorrows
  men have experienced throughout the last millennium, and the changing but constant
  tensions between their lives and ideals. Focusing on Beowulf, Sir Gawain
  and the Green Knight, Hamlet, Paradise Lost, Hard Times, and Sons and
  Lovers, Rosen shows how the actions of heroes fail to resolve tensions between
  masculine ideals and male experiences.
Nearby on shelf for English literature: