cover of book

The Beethoven Violin Sonatas: History, Criticism, Performance
edited by Lewis Lockwood and Mark Kroll
University of Illinois Press, 2004
eISBN: 978-0-252-05102-9 | Cloth: 978-0-252-02932-5
Library of Congress Classification MT145.B422B4 2004
Dewey Decimal Classification 787.2183092

Beethoven's ten violin sonatas have long been cornerstones of the chamber music repertoire. The "Spring" and "Kreutzer" sonatas are the best known of these works, which stand at the pinnacle of music for violin and piano.
Lewis Lockwood and Mark Kroll's volume The Beethoven Violin Sonatas is the first scholarly book in English devoted exclusively to the Beethoven sonatas, and deals with them in unprecedented depth. It presents seven critical and historical essays by some of the most important American and European Beethoven specialists of our time. The authors examine the sonatas within the history of the genre, the social and cultural context in which they were written, their significance within Beethoven's life and works, and the issues they raise regarding performance practices of the period.
Nearby on shelf for Instruction and study / Analysis and appreciation of musical works: