cover of book

Masses for the Sistine Chapel: Vatican City, Biblioteca Aposotlica Vaticana, Cappella Sistina, MS 14
edited by Richard Sherr
introduction by Richard Sherr
University of Chicago Press, 2010
Cloth: 978-0-226-75259-4
Library of Congress Classification M2.M489 vol. 13


Donated in the late fifteenth century to the papal choir, the musical manuscript Cappella Sistina14 reflects a new style of mass composition used by some of the era’s most noted composers. Masses for the Sistine Chapel makes the complete contents of the Cappella Sistina14—held in the Vatican Library—available for the first time.

Featuring fifteen masses and four mass fragments, this volume includes works by such composers as Guillaume Du Fay, Johannes Ockeghem, and Antoine Busnoys. In a comprehensive introduction and critical commentary on each work, Richard Sherr places the choirbook in its historical context, describing its physical makeup as well as the repertory. Sherr’s critical edition of this celebrated manuscript finally provides the insight necessary to inform future performances and recordings of its influential contents.

See other books on: 15th century | Christian | Masses, Unaccompanied | Religious | Vatican City
See other titles from University of Chicago Press
Nearby on shelf for Collections / Musical sources: