cover of book

The Motet Books of Andrea Antico
edited by Martin Picker
University of Chicago Press, 1987
Cloth: 978-0-226-66796-6
Library of Congress Classification M2.M489 vol. 8

This volume is the latest in a distinguished series of Renaissance editions, Monuments of Renaissance Music, which was founded by Edward E. Lowinsky and is now edited by Howard Mayer Brown. Four of the seven volumes published in the series to date have received the Otto Kinkeldey Award of the American Musicological Society.

Andrea Antico was one of the earliest and most important music publishers. Starting in Rome in 1510 and continuing in Venice, Antico produced elegant books of polyphonic music, cut with incredible skill on wood blocks. The repertory he published is central to understanding sixteenth-century music. It includes, for example, many pieces sung regularly in the Sistine Chapel. Since the best-represented composer in Antico's volumes if Jean Mouton, chapel master to the French king, these motet books provide insights into the character of music both at the Vatican and at the French court at the height of the Renaissance.

Martin Picker provides an exemplary edition of the four volumes of motets published by Antico in the early 1520s. His edition includes, in modern notation, all of the contents of these volumes not previously published in the Medici Codex (Monuments of Renaissance Music, Volumes III-V). Picker prefaces his edition with a history of Antico's publishing career and a discussion of each piece and its sources. The list of concordant sources and the discussions of important variants will be of enormous value to Renaissance scholars.

See other books on: History & Criticism | Instruction & Study | Motets | Music | Voice
See other titles from University of Chicago Press
Nearby on shelf for Collections / Musical sources: