Sardinian Chronicles
by Bernard Lortat-Jacob
translated by Teresa Lavender Fagan
University of Chicago Press, 1995
Cloth: 978-0-226-49340-4 | Paper: 978-0-226-49341-1
Library of Congress Classification DG975.S33L6713 1995
Dewey Decimal Classification 945.9

In Sardinian Chronicles Bernard Lortat-Jacob poetically evokes Sardinian music through a series of encounters with individual musicians and their families. Refusing to separate the music from the world in which it arises, Lortat-Jacob offers twelve vignettes focused on individuals such as Cocco, a chicken farmer who deciphers the shapes of his fowl and the layout of his henhouses in the constellations of a summer sky, and Pietro, a sleep-walking postman who divides his time between mail deliveries and impromptu serenades. These vignettes bring to life an art still very much alive: the music of villages with an oral tradition, sung or played in the company of others.

Through his sensitive portraits of music makers and their families, Lortat-Jacob overcomes some of the epistemological and methodological dilemmas facing his field today, while also giving the general reader a sense of the multiple and idiosyncratic ways that music is involved in everyday life. With a foreword by Michel Leiris and a compact disc containing samples of the music being discussed, this book constitutes a breakthrough in ethnomusicology that will also interest many in Mediterranean studies and European anthropology.

See other books on: Accordionists | Ethnomusicology | Fagan, Teresa Lavender | Italy | Music
See other titles from University of Chicago Press
Nearby on shelf for History of Italy / Other cities (non-metropolitan), provinces, etc., A-Z: